Is Whisky Gluten Free

Is Whisky Gluten Free

One of the main reasons that people look for gluten-free products is because they have dietary requirements. While gluten in food is not a consideration for many people, for some, foods that contain gluten can make them unwell. When determining whether a bottle of whisky is gluten-free, check the ingredients list for wheat and other gluten-containing grains, as you would with other packaged foods.

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley. At first glance, it may seem that whisky is not gluten-free, but this is not actually true. For something to be sold and labelled as gluten-free, it needs to contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten. Due to the way whisky is distilled, it is a gluten-free product.

Whisky is classified as gluten-free because the distillation process removes all the gluten proteins. During whisky distillation, the spirit is heated to a point it evaporates, and then it is cooled down again and condensed into a liquid. This process may be completed several times, and because gluten does not evaporate, it is removed when all the other solids are discarded.

Provided that good manufacturing processes are maintained, then there will be no gluten in the final product. Any whisky to be labelled as gluten-free may need to present their products for testing and have their distillery inspected to make sure it meets specific guidelines. Gluten-free products are at risk for cross-contamination, but this should not happen if gluten-containing ingredients are kept separate.

The gluten present in grains used to make whisky is removed during the distilling process. However, some people may still have a reaction when consuming whisky made from grains. There can be various reasons for this, with the most common being that the glass was poured in a place where cross-contamination occurred.

To keep your whisky from being contaminated with gluten products, it is best to prepare it yourself, or only in places that do not serve any gluten-containing products. In most clubs and bars, the drinks are kept separate from any food preparation. However, in restaurants and pubs, the two may be quite close, and cross-contamination can occur. To make sure your whisky remains gluten-free, it may be best to pour it yourself or have a fresh unopened bottle served to the table.

All whisky, along with almost all alcohol, is gluten-free. The only exception is barley-based beers, but there are some gluten-free beers available. In Australia, it is not a requirement for liquor products to have any ingredients listed. The decision to label any whisky products as gluten-free is entirely up to the distillery, but as all distilled liquor is gluten-free, it is mostly unnecessary.

Living with gluten intolerance can be challenging, as many modern factories will produce several products in one building and cross-contamination is very easy. When grains are ground, the particles are incredibly fine, and they can float in the air for a long time, and they’ll settle almost everywhere. Even if a food or drink doesn’t include any gluten-containing grains, items can become contaminated without proper precautions. As most distilleries are only focused on producing liquor, this type of cross-contamination is not an issue.

What are the benefits of drinking whisky?

There is a unique taste to whisky that makes it a great drink to explore. One of the reasons whisky is so well-loved is its versatility in the kitchen. It can be used in a number of different recipes to give it an added kick or to complement other ingredients. It pairs exceptionally well with chocolate, honey and coffee. Another reason whisky tastes so good is that it goes so well with certain foods, especially cheeses. Drinking whisky can help you relax and unwind after a hard day's work. This type of freedom can be exhilarating, and sharing a glass of aged whisky with friends or family can be brilliant on any day of the week. Trying spirits is an exciting pastime, and knowing you can sample the best Australian single malt whisky free from gluten only adds to the enjoyment.

Where to buy the best whisky?

At Lark Distilling Co., you can place an order for any of our single malt whisky or blended whisky and have it added to your whisky delivery. You can choose anything from our online shop to give as a gift to your gluten-intolerant friend or colleague. This includes our Australian gin, spicy whisky, whisky tasting sets, and whisky liqueurs. If you’re not sure which whisky is the best, you can contact our team, and we’ll offer our recommendation based on your preferences.

If you’re interested in treating someone, or yourself, to a gluten-free event, then you can visit our cellar door in Tasmania and sample our finest single malt whisky. We’re open almost every day of the year, and you don't need to book. Just drop by, and our expert staff will help you in choosing a whisky to sample from the 250 local and international whiskies on offer.